2003-01-15 | 6:05 p.m.
moistureinTHEAiR

You can't catch me

we rise together

And from atop you

i throw my back against your legs

as your body sighs and ends it's quaking

I look over, my arm is attached to yours

our torso's looking like the beginnings of an Escher picture

they are leading away

north and south

facing opposite directions

our sweat, joined, is spread on our skin

i move, slightly, to turn around and lie parallel

i offer nothing, curling inward and pulling for blankets

you open your eyes, slightly

and throw your arm over my waist

connected again

naked and still...

...sometime in the night i roll over and hold your face in my hand.

I wanted to wake you and say all the things that i think about during one day.

but i don't. I let the ideas flash thru my head

My mind wanders and wonder how much longer we will lie here. I know when the door opens you will not be mine anymore. You will belong to everyone again.

i stare at your face again, an eyelash on your cheek.

i make a wish but you still go away

looking back i wonder how many times i could leave you after you left me. i left you so many times after that, sometimes with other men, sometimes with sleep, sometimes with drugs. i leave the planet some nights, I hold my breathe and look next to me. You have been gone long enough for me to get cold. I shutter and grab for the blankets to cover me. The air lacks our moisture so i

cry to give it back.

You really never left.


Last Five:
HappY THouGHts - 2005-07-11
PrePAid Cell PhONE - 2005-07-12
NOrTH BeaCh ConcLUsioN - 2005-07-14
An IPOD's SHuffle Can BE so CruEL - 2005-07-15
PatIENce is AS PatiENCE Will - 2005-07-28


before | after