2003-12-12 | 3:27 p.m.
buZZy

I tried to pick up a bartender last night

I�m sure he laughed when I left

I laughed as soon as I walked out

Seemed so strange to me

Years of going in there

Staring at him pour drinks

Pour my drinks

And open my bottles

Over-tipping

He had a scratchy voice because he was sick

And I asked him if he could call me later

And just talk on the phone

I smiled that smile

We both laughed

And he said he would need my number for that and handed me a keno ticket and a pen

While writing I assured him that one of those times that I was in there, years ago, I�m sure I signed my credit card receipt with my name and number

We had watched him pour drinks and move effortlessly behind the bar

I had a heavy buzz

But damn it, he was a live person

And I was talking to him like I used to

Before everyone showed me why na�ve girls shouldn�t be left to their own devices and logic

But the alcohol is still in my body from last night, I already washed the cigarette smoke out but my mind is back to that bar and the memories that place drudges up

And I�m laughing to myself thinking of it all




Last Five:
HappY THouGHts - 2005-07-11
PrePAid Cell PhONE - 2005-07-12
NOrTH BeaCh ConcLUsioN - 2005-07-14
An IPOD's SHuffle Can BE so CruEL - 2005-07-15
PatIENce is AS PatiENCE Will - 2005-07-28


before | after